Connect with us
Riho holding the AEW Women's World Championship - Photo Credit: Riho / AEW via Twitter Riho holding the AEW Women's World Championship - Photo Credit: Riho / AEW via Twitter

AEW

Cody praises Riho at AEW Conference Call: ‘Audience has fallen for her’

Photo Credit: Riho / AEW via Twitter

Published

on

Cody praised AEW’s inaugural Women’s World Champion Riho during a Media Conference Call earlier today, stating “I think we’ve all fallen in love with her, and this audience has fallen in love with her.”

AEW’s Executive Vice President Cody had nothing but kind words for 22-year old, Tokyo born AEW Women’s World Champion Riho ahead of AEW: Full Gear tomorrow night. Cody spoke highly of the rising star, who started training for pro-wrestling all the way back in elementary school at the age of 9. Ever since Riho defeated Nyla Rose for the AEW Women’s Championship on the first edition of AEW’s Dynamite, the fanbase has been absolutely enamored with her. A natural babyface if there ever was one. The roster has more than taken notice according to Cody.

“Riho, I think we’ve all fallen in love with her and this audience has fallen in love with her.”

The challenger for the AEW World Championship this Saturday against Chris Jericho mentioned prior that Riho’s match with her original pro-wrestling Ice Ribbon Dojo trainer Emi Sakura, is “Maybe the one I’m looking forward to the most.”

“Emi [Sakura] and Riho… Their match this Saturday is maybe the one I’m looking forward to the most. The teacher versus student aspect of it… And what Kenny Omega is doing and trying to do with the Women’s division is really something that deserves praise. He’s really trying to do something different and this is a merit based sports centric wrestling show.”

Cody went on to say how in a Southern crowd over in Charlotte, the fans were chanting “This is Awesome!” for two women they definitely had never seen before.” How it’s a great indicator of the passion AEW fans have for the Women’s Wrestling Division.

“You had a Southern based crowd chanting “This is Awesome!” for two women who they have definitely never seen before this past week in Charlotte and that that’s a great indicator.”

During a media question about the possibilities of an AEW mid-card title being introduced, Cody commented that AEW wants their Women’s World Championship and Riho, to be respected at the same level that Chris Jericho is as the AEW World Champion.

“We’ve got to make sure that the Women’s Championship and Riho is respected at the same level that Chris Jericho is as the AEW World Champion.”

AEW’s Riho faces off against Emi Sakura for the AEW Women’s Championship in Baltimore, Maryland at AEW: Full Gear tomorrow, November 9 at Royal Farms Arena. AEW: Full Gear will officially begin at 8:00 p.m. ET / 5:00 p.m. PT / 1:00 a.m. BST.

The pre-show titled “The Buy In” will be available free of charge on AEW’s official YouTube Channel and Bleacher Report Live and features Bea Priestley taking on Britt Baker. “The Buy In” starts at 7:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. PT / 12:30 a.m. BST.

Nir Regev is the founder of The Natural Aristocrat. You can directly contact him at nir.regev@thenaturalaristocrat.com for coverage consideration, interview opportunties, or general comments.

Advertisement
Comments

Copyright © 2016-2019 TheNaturalAristocrat.com. All rights reserved. The Natural Aristocrat™ is a registered trademark of Live Game Deals LLC. TheNaturalAristocrat.com is owned and operated by Live Game Deals LLC. TheNaturalAristocrat.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.